Choices

the-way-the-truth-the-life-e1500003940774.jpg

Making choices…making changes….starting over is always easier said than done. Life is one big decision-making process–knowing your purpose and those who can help you fulfill it is important. Everyone has a void that must be filled. Some seek fulfillment through careers, education, relationships, gangs, sex, gambling, religion, church activities, music, substance abuse, and so forth. Some people even join up with great organizations, events, and people, however if that is not what God has for you, it will cause pain in the end.

I see how I used education, Christian organizations, career goals, and a few select individuals to fulfill my life, but once school was over and colleagues went their separate ways, positions ended, and those few select individuals disappointed me, I was left empty once more.

Sure, I had a relationship with Jesus, I attended church every time the doors were open, I was faithful to prayer, and I paid my tithes and offerings. So what…why was I feeling empty? I put those things before my relationship with Christ.  My life seemed to be full of “God” things, so I was fine, right?

Another obstacle was my own carnal desires. My, “few select” were not all on the same Christian path. I fooled myself into thinking that I could help them, perhaps point them to Christ. In the end I was always sucked in. The statement “love is blind” is true. We act out of love and ignore all the damaging warnings, and then when life and relationships start to crumble we ask “Why Lord?” Selfishly I continued to surround myself with these unhealthy relationships  knowing the damage it could cause to my testimony—sometimes we are the only Jesus a person sees. Therefore, our testimony is everything, but more importantly, I knew the damage it could cause me spiritually. We can always think of a reason to remain and I had plenty. But I was always miserable, yet I lacked the knowledge and understanding of how to end it.

During our praise and worship at my church youth convention, I heard this song called “Moving Forward”. That song spoke volumes to me. I remembered falling down and crying out for God to make me new, to help me move forward. That song is beautiful. It shows that God is faithful, that with Christ we can be new creatures, and move from our past. Too often, I tried to correct the past, start a new chapter with my past…but your past is your past. I wanted my past to be my future. Sometimes it still hurts, sometimes I still wonder, and all the time I pray for continued strength to keep moving forward.

We cannot correct the past; we cannot change the past, and no matter how great a person or thing was in your past, sometimes it meant to remain there.

Key2hope of moving forward is to believe that Christ will heal your heart to move forward. You and I may stumble backwards a few times, may be confused, and still have a little hurt left, but moving forward is a faith walk. It may not happen all at once, but God’s Word does not lie. He is the Healer that makes all things new…He is the Guider that will direct us to move forward.  He is the Good Shepherd.

You can check out the song, Moving Forward

May God bless you and keep you, may His face shine upon you and be gracious unto you.

Leave a Reply

