Blessed Life Equals No Money, Part-time Job, and a Master’s Degree

Some may wonder how no money, two part-time jobs (averaging $800 per month-yikes), and a master’s degree can equal a blessed life. A few days ago I wrote a post that mentioned a quote, “you can’t have a testimony without a test.” My current situation is a test and ultimately God is going to transform it into a testimony.
 

Last week during campaigners (Young Life Bible study) I asked my students about success and if they were taking proper steps to achieve their success in life. They answered yes…but the fact is, nothing in life is guaranteed. I went through the proper steps to be what I thought was successful: hardworking, dedicated, experienced in my field, educated, and so forth. I’m not exactly where I would like to be career wise. But God has a plan for each of our lives. Each trial and tribulation is part of the puzzle. It’s that piece that makes us unique in the situation.

I seriously went through each of these stages…LOL…in that order!

Image result for how is adulting

broke meme

Image result for how is adulting

 

 

 

 

 I may not have the finances I want and sometimes need nor a full-time job in my career,  nevertheless, I am blessed. The level of word that I receive from my church, the hope that I receive from the Word of God, the awesome prayer experiences I have with Jesus, and my total dependency upon my Savior—lacking nothing in faith, means I am blessed.
It all depends on how you look at your situation. You can either look at all the tangible things you lack and forget about your relationship with Jesus and throw tantrums, or you can say Lord, thank you…thank you for allowing me to go through this. Through my trials I have learned to depend on you, I learned that you will make away when all else fails. Oh it’s hard, especially when you have bill collectors calling and you want to, but you just don’t have the money to pay up. It’s hard when all your money goes to pay rent and gas. It’s hard when you lack so much, but God knows… He knows what He’s doing even if we don’t.

I shared this with my students because they mentioned the struggles that cause them not to be successful Christians.  Ecclesiastes says,

“Remember thy Creator in the days of thy youth, while the evil days come not, nor the years draw nigh, when thou shall say I have no pleasure in them.”

This scripture is confirming that issues and trials don’t cease as you get older. The older you become the more problems and issues you have to deal with. The scripture says “while the evil days come not”—as a youth the evil days are not present—no responsibilities, little to no bills, and strength in your body—that is the time to remember your Creator, because when those trials come, the burden will be heavy, and remembering Jesus will be harder.

 My relationship with Jesus has given me so much strength and hope to continue on. Of course, I’m human, I’ve cried, I felt like given up, I’ve experienced stressed, yet Jesus always reminded me of things He’s redeemed me from in my past. He reminded me that He loves me and ultimately things will work out for my good.

Keys2hope: my dear youth, it’s imperative to know Jesus now, let him strengthen your confidence in Him while you are young, let him direct your path, let Him use you to glorify His name while you are full of vigor and life. And when the time comes, and it will, you will know that you have a blessed life, because you have Jesus. Those who have accepted Him are just passing by in this life. Our reward is in heaven. A blessed life is living for Christ, not measured by worldly success or tangible things.

As always, be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

